Our Mothers Know Best

The Classic Mom

You Complete Me

 

 

 

 

Everything I know about parenting I learned from my mom. I didn’t know this until I became a mom myself. 

She was there for me when in the delivery room as I was pushing out my first baby. When I had my second baby, she was at my house with my first baby, and when I had my third baby, she was at my house with my first and second babies. Mom, you’re my hero. I also feel triply blessed, as my sister, sister-in-law, and mother-in-law are all so fantastic with newborns. I was so overwhelmed with my first baby that my sister-in-law drove over an hour to visit with me and wrote down the steps to soothing a fussy baby. I still go by those notes to this day.

There are times in the middle of the night when all new moms experience a wave of panic.  A combination of sleep deprivationand hormonal overload can make even a constipated baby seem like an emergency (really, how can a baby go for days without pooping?).  Not wanting to wake up our families at that hour, my husband and we would turn to the 24/7 resource on our laps, and just google it. Our love affair with social media has been part of our lives ever since. From the What To Expect Series to buying diapers and wipes on Amazon, we’re linked together.

Everyday, more and more marketing executives from big brand companies in the pharmaceutical, consumer products, toy, automotive, airline and resort industries, are getting on-line with social media.  They want to reach parents, and they want to reach moms. Why haven’t they done this already? There is a fear of the blogosphere, as it enables consumers to post both negative and positive product reviews and customer service experiences.  (like this example involving the painkiller Motrin). The Wall Street Journal published an article on SXSW Roundup: “Moms Who Tech” as recent as yesterday.  Companies have to become more transparent and get their blog on. The article ended with the following question, “If you were in a room full of marketing and customer service execs from major companies that you use, what sort of feedback would you give them on how better to reach and serve you?” As a mommy blogger and social media savvy stay-at-home-mom of 3 kids, 4 and under, I just had to comment

I am a stay-at-home mom of 3 children, 4 and under and I joined Twitter about four months ago, not really knowing what to do with it. Once I started using the search tool, I found thousands of moms using Twitter to share information. Everything from recipe ideas, money saving tips, and coupons to breastfeeding, 2 year old temper tantrums, and travel tips. It is because of these technical resources that I am a wiser consumer and a resource of information to my circle of moms. I think it is extremely important that advertising executives and public relations strategists increase their on-line presence. Have more contests to engage your audience and use social media platforms like Twitter and Facebook to reach us. You already know that we make 80% of the purchasing decisions in the household, catch us on-line before we start shopping for a new car, birthday present for niece, healthy cereal, or places to stay near Disney World. We’re already out in the blogosphere, you should be too.

40 years ago, a stay-at-home-mom had no choice but to call up her pediatrician or neighbor to get answers (that’s without call waiting or voice mail). Today, we have those answers right in front of us.  We can shop, plan, bake, read,  blog, and make money (best during nap time) while at home with our kids.  It’s not that we don’t love getting out and going into stores, just getting the kids dressed and out of the house is a job.

Leave a Reply

