Breastfeeding in the News

Breast-feeding may help protect babies from neglect
I love breastfeeding, but it wasn’t easy at first. Those first couple of days when you feel like your uterus is going to burst out of your stomach is no picnic. To top it off, your milk doesn’t come in immediately, and when it does, ouch! And¬†every time¬†the baby latches on, the uterus contracts as your nipples are on fire. If you can get through all of that without having a mini-mommy-meltdown, your amazing. Breastfeeding is a skill that requires a lot of patience in the beginning. There are lactation consultants available to help you through it, or a nighttime nurse that will put cabbage leaves and a hot compress on your breasts, true story. If one can’t breastfeed because of engorged breast with mastitis, it’s okay. You gave it a try, and that’s what is important. I had to suffer through such engorgement and pain, but I was destined to be a SAHM. For those of you in the working world with other children, this is next to impossible. There are ways to bond with your baby, even if you can’t put him to the breast. When giving the baby a bottle, lay with him, caress their head, toes, and face. Look into their eyes, smile, and tell them how much you love them. You will feel the purest love of your life. Breast direct or bottle feeding, there isn’t a better present than being present with your baby.

How was your breastfeeding experience? Did you feel bonded to your baby without breastfeeding?

9 thoughts on “Breastfeeding in the News

  1. I formula fed one child, and breastfed the other. I can honestly say I do feel more bonded with my breastfed baby. The experience created a closeness that is so hard to describe. It wasn’t an easy process at first but part of being a mother to me is sacrifice. I of course don’t knock formula feeding mothers, it definitely has it’s place.

  2. I think Breastfeeding, but if you make yourself present instead of bottle propping whatever it is not like there is a huge gap in bonding!

  3. Can a dad comment on breastfeeding?

    Years ago I worked on a government-funded research project about the impact of daycare; breastfeeding benefits were a part of what we looked at. The organization was quite unhappy about this, because the research was unequivocal: breastfeeding has physical, cognitive, and emotional benefits. There are positives for the moms as well as the children. Obviously, having kids in daycare could interfere with breastfeeding!

    My wife breastfed both of my children. Despite the difficulties and inconveniences, she missed it for quite a while after she stopped. Since working on the research project, I’m one of few dads who speaks up in breastfeeding conversations now that more people in my circle of friends are having babies!

  4. When possible breastfeeding is by far the most important thing that bonds a baby to it’s mother. The mother’s body creates a perfect food for her child. Skin to skin contact, closeness to the mother’s heart both bring mother and baby together in a beautiful way.

    Children who are adopted as infants or are in foster care miss out on such extreme closeness of the breastfeeding bond. What could be a warm, soft nipple is a cold unyeilding silicone or rubber. What is warm and fresh and perfect from mom becomes chemical laden and varied in temperature. Adoptive/Foster mothers need to create bonds in other ways but none can replicate the breastfeeding bond.

  5. I have breastfed 4 of my babies and bottle fed two, and feel that I bonded well with all of my babies. Sure, it is quite the experience to breast feed, but if you are spending that quality time with your baby, while bottle feeding (and not considering it a chore), you will bond just the same!

    That said, I would encourage all new moms to breast feed, if you can. There really is nothing like it!!

  6. As a mother of four, whom all have had different feeding experiences, I feel that I have a good grasp on this subject.

    My first son was born when I was 19. I had no support system. I breastfed for a week. After a week, he switched him to formula, because the doctors suggested it. He is eleven. We are not as close as I would have hoped.

    My second son was born when I was 23. He was put on IV Nutrition, because he did not have enough bowel to absorb food. (it was removed because of gastroshisis and jejunal atresia)He did receive breast milk VIA a feeding tube for 2 months, to keep things flushed out. After his five organ transplant, he was on special formulas that are balanced just right for transplant patients. LAter I found out, breast milk would have been easier on his gut..and I should have kept pumping. He and I were very much bonded.. we lived in and out of hospitals together for the two years he was with me.. he passed away at 2.

    My twins are 22 months. They are breastfeeding still. They have no GI issues. We are very close. I am letting them selfwean. They are very energetic. Very healthy. Extremely affectionate and loving to all they know.

    I feel that the time you spend with your child as the result of breastfeeding or bottle feeding really does help develop and nuture the child. If you choose the bottle.. propping and walking away is not going to benefit you or your baby.

    The nutritional aspect of breast VS bottle is a no-brainer. I have seen first hand the effects of formula. I have seen how much better for a young childs gastrointestinal system breastmilk is..

    This got long…

    Breast VS Bottle..
    I choose breast. I didnt at first, because I was ill-educated on the matter. But, the benefits of breastfeedign far outweigh anything FF can do for a child.

  7. I was unable to nurse due to an earlier surgery (10 yrs prior). With my first I tried, got excited that it would work and then was dissappointed when the amount I produced was barely sufficient for a mouse, let alone my kid. With #2 I fake-nursed for 5 wks. She would suckle and then take a bottle — a full 4oz, so she obviously wasn’t getting much from me. With #3 it was straight to formula, for many reasons…

    I don’t feel like my bond is different for any of them.

    I did not click the link but it seems obvious that breast feeding would be a deterrent to neglect. You have to hold the kid to nurse, so duh.

  8. I breastfed my son, and probably shouldn’t have. He was malnourished until I supplemented formula. He was miserable, I was miserable…but idealistic! I knew it was “best” for him in theory…and deep down I do wonder if he’d still be the gifted genius that he is had I bottle fed.

    But to be honest – I hated nursing every time I did it, until the last time. I wanted to throw a party when he started solids & lost interest in nursing! It hurt my breasts & made them bleed, it hurt my back to hold him for hours on end (even with special pillows)…just remembering that time makes me shudder!

    Not sure if I would do it again. Lactation consultants didn’t help me. He’s nurse for 2 hrs at a time, every 1-2 hours…wow. Not fun memories. He cried every time I held him if I wasn’t nursing him.

    My favorite bonding memories with him were the happy times he had – like his first one that I remember, he was about 4 months old, and ate his first full bottle – and then he was happy. I held him, I played with him, I put on music and read a book to him…it was such a beautiful time, it was the first video I took of him. I didn’t want to forget the first time he was happy with me.

Leave a Reply

