Mama’s Day Out at SocComm NYC

Yesterday I had my big “all about me” fest, the first one since I’ve had three kids under, three and under. No, I didn’t go to the spa and get the mommy massage and mani-pedi (that’s manicure/pedicure for all you guys out there). Uh, uh, I didn’t meet my city friends for coffee and shmooze it up. I went to a day long conference, SocComm at the 3LD Art & Technology Center . This event was produced by the genius of Jeff Pulver . I was so nervous yesterday morning that I woke up at 4:00 a.m., not to the cries of one of my children (thanks for holding back kids), but the grumbling in my stomach over what to wear to this event.  Still very much with a postpardum belly requiring two layers of spanx , I was dressed for what I hoped would be success. And what about those business cards? Amateur hour and then some, as I was attending without laptop, blakcberry and/or iphone  in hand (btw, if you know of any contests where I could get me one of those,  let me know). In fact, my business cards were so “old school”, I was for sure going to get busted by the “SocComm police”.

I’d like to give a special shout out to my DH, as he held down the fort as I was running around like a nut job all morning.  And, the babysitting staff (see hole burnt in pocket) that stayed with the kids when DH left for work. Enough already, what did this mama get from SocComm?

It was intoxicating, invigorating, and transcending. I loved being in a room full of twitterers and bloggers. I’m the new kid on the blog and I’ve got more tweeks and edits on here than I’d like to divulge. But, in a “help me, help you” frame of mind, SocComm enabled me to absorb some of the most valuable “content” about social communications happening right now. Even though the all-star list of presenters spoke in lingo new to me, I was completely mesmerized by their every word (note to self, bring pocket version of SocComm Speak for Dummy’s). The room was wired and there was not one head bobber in the house. In this game, you’re really a loser if you’re a snoozer.

I must admit, I hadn’t heard of any of these infectious speakers until about two weeks ago. In fact, I wouldn’t have even know about  SocComm if it weren’t for the exceptional mentoring of  themidlifewife. Now for a brief, no more than 140 characters, about what I learned from the “who’s who” of SocComm .

Jeff Pulver  Want to be successful online? Be vulnerable and share something about yourself.

David Kirpatrick Zuckerberg of facebook wants to change the world.

Fred Wilson     We are in a culture of sharing information.

Gary Vaynerchuk  Content will monitize the whole damn thing.

Kenny Miller  Making a human connection, at the end of the day, that’s what social is all about.

Steve Greenberg  Future of music biz is to create music based communities.

Jeff Jarvis Content without links is content without value – it’s the tree that fell in the forest that no one heard.

Shelly Palmer There are people, the mommy bloggers, thay have street credit. That’s a currency. In fact, it’s a currency they all translate into wealth.

Peter Hirschberg New concept: the marketplace of ideas from within a company.

Chis Brogan     It’s where you are and it’s where your people are. 003

Laura Roeder Video is a very powerful way to make fans feel connected.

 Being an aspiring mommy blogger, I was like a groupie at a Depeche Mode concert in the early 90’s (yes, there is a story here for another time) when the panel “Being A Mom in the Digital Social Evoloution” was on with mommy bloggers’ Katja Presnal, Lindsay Maines, Audrey McClellenad, and Beth Fedlman.  

002Here’s a little something that you should know about each of these phenomamamas:

Lindsay Maines The future of marketing to moms (or anyone, for that matter) is word of mouth

Katja Presnal I love to spread sunshine, share great ideas and products, and inspire you to live life to the fullest.

Audrey McClelland Raising 4 boys 4 and under. Wife. Daughter. Sister. Writer. Shopper. Blogger.

Beth Feldman Helping your children realize their hopes and dreams doesn’t mean you have to give up on your own.

 Thanks again to  Jeff Pulver and the participants of SocComm. I’m your newest follower on twitter, your newest friend on Facebook. From “clique” to “click”, we’re all linked in this new world of social communications networking together.

2 thoughts on “Mama’s Day Out at SocComm NYC

  1. It was a great experience attending SocComm (feels weird typing that without the hash tag first) yesterday and meeting you with the fantastic hat (although brief) was extremely valuable. I hope we get to catch up in the future and if you gotta bring the kids – bring ’em!

  2. Esti-
    It was so great to meet you at Soccomm- it meant a lot to see members of the mommy blog tribe. Represent!!!🙂 Like you, I learned so much that day, and am really still digesting it. Jeff Pulver truly blows me away. Thanks so much for the shoutout, and I’m sure I’ll see you at many more events! All best, Lindsay

Leave a Reply

