The No Spend Zone, Costco With The kids

My DH has always been thrifty, then he married me. Not that I wasn’t thrifty at heart, I just loved clothes,  hair straightening, mani/pedi, traveling, MAC makeup and shoes(before we were married).  We just celebrated our 5Th wedding anniversary and I have been free of heavy spending ever since (almost). What does that mean? I’ve become more aware of what I’m spending. Phrases like “price per lb.” or “price per oz.” race through my head like lightening speed each time I step into the grocery store. And then, there is that voice in the back of my head. Can’t I get more of this for less at Costco? Didn’t I have a coupon for $3 off  Hellman’s Mayonnaise? Better question, do I need the Paul Bunyan size of mayonnaise?  The truth is, with a 5 lb. jar , the sandwich possibilities are endless. Egg salad, tuna salad, salmon salad, potato salad, and a turkey sandwich smothered in mayonnaise.  My DH and I go out to eat on “date night” about once a month, otherwise we are eating at home with the kids. We need food. For example, we are the poster family for 50 Kellogg’s Waffles. And the huge boxes of cheerios, we’re all over them (and they’re all over my house, crunch), but my kids love them and eat them.

Other items that we buy at Costco include diapers, wipes, children’s medicine, seltzer water, garbage bags, paper plates, laundry detergent, soap, and baby gifts. They have the cutest baby sleepers, I always pick up a couple to have just in case a friend is expecting. Another item we buy from Costco, our contacts and eyeglasses. My husband and I have been very pleased with not only the styles that they have, but the service as well. Just the other day (never on a Sunday) I had to pick up my prepaid contact lenses. I was with my 2 year old daughter, and 11 month old son, so we decided to make an outing out of being at Costco(in the morning during the week only). I had already schlepped the kids out of their car seats and into the shopping cart, why not. With all the bright lights, people, toys, and friendly employees , it was almost like a mini dose of DisneyWorld (at least for my kids). In fact, we sampled our way around the store. Ice Cream here, cookies there, and crackers over there. This paticular Costco in Far Rockaway, is most familiar with kosher food and the symbols that make them kosher. We really scored that day, as all the items were kosher.

Not everybody is as big a fan of Costco as my family. In his article, “Do Warehouse Stores Really Save You Money?”, Neal Templin wrote, “I don’t know about you, but when I have more cash in my wallet, I spend more of it. And when there are more bagels in my refrigerator, I consume more of them. I think that’s human nature. Call it the Costco Effect.”

Being married to an extremely cost concience husband (believe me, I needed that), we stick to our budget and there’s no budging about it. Not because we’re type A people, but because in today’s economy, we must. I couldn’t see shopping at Costco if I was single or an empty nester, at least not for the things we need. Right now, it is how we stock up and save. With two kids in diapers, you don’t want to run out of diapers, or run out and spend twice as much for less at the all night convenience store. As my DH often says, there are some things you just don’t skimp on.

Do you shop at Costco? If not, where do you shop to get the best deals? Leave a comment below.

 

 

One thought on “The No Spend Zone, Costco With The kids

  1. I love Costco to. As for Mr. Templin’s comment — that could be true if you put it all in an accessible place. For my family, what isn’t being used goes int he basement freezer. We have a high school boarder this year and between her, my husband and my 17 month old who is obsessed with slices of bread, I’ve been going through a loaf of bread every two or three days. Darn straight I’m going to costco for more!

    (Definitely jealous of your kosherish Costco.)

Leave a Reply

