Potty Language For Potty Training

Since I’ve potty trained one daughter and currently working on the other, I am picking up a lot of “potty language” that I’ve never seen before. As you can imagine, this potty language was shown to me in the most inopportune moments (post delivery in my hospital room, shopping at Costco, eating out with friends, the park, etc.) you get the picture. scarey-toilets

What is a mom to do in this situation. If only I would have known while dining out with some friends, my 2 yr. old pulled on my shirt and announced to the entire table that she had to make. Thankfully, we were two feet away from the nearest potty. Let’s just put it this way, we went in with my daughter in her underwear and we came out with her in a diaper (good thing I planned ahead). What happened? My daughter freaked out when she saw the toilet and refused to sit on it. As she freaked out, a plentiful stream of pee pee splashed on the floor and all over her socks and shoes (note to self, pack extra pair of shoes and socks during potty training stage). As people were anxiously knocking on the door of the bathroom stall, I was laying down paper towel and removing  her shoes and socks.  I quickly wiped up and wiped off as much as I could.  Not yet potty trained, but refusing to wear diapers, my daughter was very upset. I had no choice put to put her feet in the shoes without socks. She was okay with this and we didn’t have to walk very far, phew. So, here I was in a bathroom with who knows how many people had been (try not to think about it) and I was wiping up the floor with baby wipes. I said to myself, never again. Could this “clothes encounter” been averted? The solution was in the “potty”, that’s right. This most recent “potty foul” has encouraged me be prepared. Later that week, I was at an all star mommy bloggers lunch with Beth Feldman (thank you, rawk) I met Jen Singer, creator of MommaSaid.net  . She is an author and she writes the Good Grief: A Tale of Two Tweens blog for Good Housekeeping.com which is syndicated at Yahoo Shine. She is also one of the Potty Training Experts at Pull-Ups.com.  Perfect timing. She shared the following on the go potty training tips:

BYOP (bring your child-size potty adapter seat). “In the eyes of a toddler, the potty at home and a public toilet are two entirely different things,” said Jen Singer. “They look different and sound different, and that can be very intimidating.” We also are going to try On-Go-Potty

Keep Your Hands To Yourself – The sound of an automatic flushing toilet can scare newly potty trained children out of the stall (this happened to me at a Museum). This is when a portable, fold-up potty seat that fits over an adult-sized toilet is necessary. Inexpensive and made of plastic, these seats fold up small enough to fit into a purse or other bag. They’re also easy to wipe down and can be used anywhere. Avoid the situation and don’t flush.

Be Prepared for Accidents – Take an extra pair of everything, tights, underwear, diapers, wipes, socks, and shoes. Be calm and encouraging that it was an accident and they do happen.

If you plan to go “potty hopping” with your not yet trained child, bring these items with you. This will help make the “potty” more fun for you both. Is there something that you would like to share? Please comment below.

3 thoughts on “Potty Language For Potty Training

  1. Pingback: Potty Language For Potty Training « Primetime Parenting | TrainToddler.Com

  2. Potty Training book saved my Sanity!!!!!!
    ________________________________________
    Parenting Magazine (March ‘09 issue) & Men’s Health Magazine (Sept. issue) recommends Potty Train Your Child in Just One Day: Proven Secrets of the Potty Pro by Teri Crane. My husband picked us up a copy after reading the article. IT REALLY WORKS!!

    Everyone is talking about throwing a “potty party” to potty train a child. I was so desperate; I was willing to do anything. Her book outlines 10 themed parties. What kid doesn’t love to play and pretend? All my mommy friends have successfully potty trained their kids with her book too.

    Honestly, when I first learned of this book, I thought NO WAY! Maybe this would work on a little girl, but NOT a BOSSY, 2-1/2 year old BOY. NO WAY! Guess what? It REALLY WORKED!!! Teri Crane SAVED MY SANITY!!! Her book was easy to read, funny and extremely helpful. I can’t thank Teri enough. I would HIGHLY recommend this book to EVERY parent. It will save you much grief and frustration. Potty training shouldn’t be difficult, we as parents make it difficult because we don’t know what to do. Teri teaches you. Buy the book, it’s the best money you will ever spend

    Most amazingly, I had some questions, so I called the author, and she CALLED ME BACK!!

  3. I love when Authors give us individual attention. I hadn’t heard of Teri Crane until you commented, great to know. My 2 yr. old seems to make on the potty more when my husband is home. When I’m home alone with her, she has more accidents. As my pediatrician always says, “She won’t be under the Chuppah with diapers”. This is harder on us parents than the kidsl. I don’t remember going through this part of my life, but my mom does. And she had to do it with four kids.

Leave a Reply

