If Mom’s Looking Out For Everyone, Who’s looking Out For Mom?

Have you ever had one of those days when your babysitter cancelled, the toilet overflowed, your kids had more mucus coming out of there noses than ever, and your DH (Dear Husband) had to work late. Or, you’re newly married, pregnant with your first child, and new to a neighborhood without family around the corner(been there, done that). This could bring any pregnant women into an emotional frenzy. With my first pregnancy, newly married, and away from my family, I was extremely emotional. Whenever I spoke on the phone to my family, I would start getting so ferklempt that I would start crying. Not because I wasn’t happy, but because all that was familiar to me was a plane ride away. My poor DH, he tried everything to cheer me up when I was experiencing one of my crying sessions (clothes, starbucks, blockbuster). He couldn’t understand (only a woman could relate)the bond a woman has with her sisters and mom. If you had the type of mom that always had a way to make you feel better, that’s my mom. She was always looking out for everyone, including her parents (they both fell ill at the same time). 0081I can honestly say I never saw her stress out about her parents health issues. I was all of 5 years old, not to mention my 3 older siblings, who were 8, 10, and 13 at the time. Even the days, weeks, running from doctors appointments to hospitals, she never lost her cool. If she did, I never knew about it. She always made everything all right, I’m forever thankful for her ability to do so. Now, as a mom of 3 kids, 4 and under, I rarely have a minute to myself, I can’t imagine how overwhelmed she must have felt. Throughout that entire period of caring for her parents, she always put on a smile, tucked me in bed, and looked out for me. She kept herself well, physically and mentally. She played tennis and got together with other moms on a regular basis. And just think, this was before email, cell phones, voice mail, and instant messaging. If you needed to be reached, you literally had to wait by the phone. Call waiting, not even an option. If somebody was schmoozing it up with a girlfriend 35 years ago, you’d miss that important call from the doctor. So, my question is, when did mom have time to take care of herself? old-school-mom

Well, it seems as though moms and having time to take care of themselves has always been an issue. With today’s social media at our fingertips 24/7, if you forget to have regular doctor appointments, programs like Queens City Council’s newest initiative:  NYC Women First: Health Starts with You, will remind you.  This initiative was launched by Christine C. Quinn, Speaker, and it’s incredible. Christine expressed, “Too often, women prioritize the needs of others first – at home, at work, with family,with friends, and in relationships. Please join with me and women across the city in making the next year one in which we focus on ourselves and our health as a major priority.”

This is what the program has provided , and will provide, to women in New York
October – Women with Get Screened For Breast Cancer
November-  Protect Yourself Against Diabetes
December- Protect Yourself From HIV
January- Get help if you are experiencing domestic violence
February- Keep your heart healthy
March –  If you’re over 50, get a colonoscopy
April, Get a gynecological provider
May, Practice safe sex and know your reproductive health options
June, Protect yourself against osteoporosis
July, Get help if you are experiencing depression
August, Quit smoking, and
September, Have a healthy pregnancy.

We all know that Mother knows and does best for us, here’s a chance for her to get what’s best for her health. Even though we’ve all grown up and live away from home, we still need you, mom.

For more detailed information, please visit NYC Women First New York City Council

One thought on “If Mom’s Looking Out For Everyone, Who’s looking Out For Mom?

  1. I hear you, fellow Mom.

    Moms (whether working FT, PT or SAHM) have a lot of capacity for others but we do tend to make others a priority to the detriment of our health. And as my wise old grandmother used to say, “If you don’t have your health, you don’t have anything.”

Leave a Reply

