My Today’s Moms Moment and Other Cewebrity Suprises

maryann-and-alicia1Last Friday morning, I got dressed up (spanx don’t fail me now) and headed into the city for Today’s Moms Book Bash & Benefit . Last Friday morning, my babysitter cancelled and I quickly sent out emails and called friends to see if they were available to watch the most precious people in my life, my 2 yr. old and 1 yr. old. Then, the babysitter was available, arrived on time, and I was on my way.

I decided to drive in, which was no problem at all. I parked the car, grabbed my business cards (homemade at 5:00 am that morning) and sprinted down the avenue until I arrived at The NBC Experience Store. I climbed the stairs and saw a room filled with mommy bloggers, editors, babies, pregnant mommy bloggers, and The Today Show producers Mary Ann Zoellner and Alicia Ybarbo, cewebrity shmooze, here I come.

Not only was this an opportunity for mommy bloggers to meet face to face, the event raised money and awareness for women and children in need thanks to  Baby Buggy, a 501c3 accredited non-profit organization.  Today’s Moms also partnered with Pampers and UNICEF for their ONE PACK=ONE VACCINE where 1 donation of a pack of Pampers to Baby Buggy equaled a donation to help provide vaccines to pregnant women and women of child-bearing age. AND if you place an order at Diapers.com for a pack of Pampers and the Today’s Moms book, $1.00 will go to Baby Buggy.

And that’s not all! There was a real buzz in the room as the crowd split like the red sea and  Sarah Ferguson, The Duchess of York walked in the room. She was stunning in a mom kind of a way. She had such warmth in her eyes when she pointed to a baby in the crowd and emphasized the reason why we were all in the room, we are moms taking care of our babies. When she said that, my love for my kids flooded my fergie-talking-to-baby-girlemotions. I thought of them at home with the babysitter and sent them an invisible hug and kiss.

Then Sarah Ferguson opened up her heart to us, mom to mom. Mrs. Mo’s New Jersey Baby summed it up beautifully in her post, “At the end of her greeting speech, she offered her new ADORABLE book, Tea with Ruby, as a giveaway which Amber, @jerseymomma, won. But then, as she looked over at Maddy, she said that she just had to give one to her/me. I’ll let the photos speak for themselves of the UNREAL moment that followed. Sure, there were a ton of flashes in our faces, but all I could think was how REAL and COMFORTABLE Sarah Ferguson was and how she radiated LOVING MOTHER with Maddy. Such a class act!”

I saw the entire transaction, and it was so real and genuine. You could see that Sarah Ferguson’s eyes were warm with the love of being a mom. Now her girls are grown up, but for a moment there she was transported back in time when they were babies.

As people started to leave, I stayed around to try and mingle with the other mommy bloggers, pr people, and Mary Ann and Alicia. A great big shout out to @KatjaPresnal, I feel in a way she is like a big si  ster to us all!  Not only is she a connector, she is incredibly passionate about what she does. Mary Ann and Alicia @todaysmoms, thanks for chatting with us even though your feet were sore (at least you have really cute toes). It was so nice to finally put a face with the twitter, great meeting @JenRab, @mommyniri  and her friend Kitty,  @Jerseymomma,  @melysas (with her adorable baby bump) and @MrsMoNJ.

Today’s Moms is available for purchase at Amazon.com or at the NBC Experience Store. You can also follow them on Twitter and Facebook. 

For every Pampers Baby Bodysuit manufactured for the 1 pack = 1 vaccine program, The Pampers brand will donate $.07 to the U.S. Fund for UNICEF to help provide one tetanus vaccine to a pregnant woman or a woman of child-bearing age in the less industrialized world. Visit www.pampers.com/unicef for more information

 

2 thoughts on “My Today’s Moms Moment and Other Cewebrity Suprises

  1. It was a great day at the library a little while back when I found Sarah Ferguson’s first children’s book “Little Red.” It is a lovely and enjoyable book of a little girl (with red hair, of course!) setting off on a picnic and the adventures she encounters. I really look forward to reading her new one with my daughter! Thanks for the post!

  2. Wow would of loved to be there what a great story…love all your blogs…and I think Sarah does seem like a real down to earth gal

Leave a Reply

