My Cheesy Pre Shavuot Experience

Yesterday I took on something new.  I hosted my very own, very live, blogtalkradio show. Since this was live,  I tried to be as well prepared in advance as possible. I had my notes right in front of me and I was all ready to give over my segment on why Shavuot is the cheesiest Jewish holiday. Little did I know that I’d be the big cheese ball. 

So, what happened? Nothing, at least for the first 15 minutes of the show.  15 minutes of complete, dead silence. Why was this happening? After clicking here, there, and everywhere  for help, the numbers were there, staring me in the face. I had been calling the guest number the entire time. What I didn’t know-I didn’t read over the instructions in detail-is that the host and guest call into different numbers. Hence, I learned a very valuable lesson at the expense of the few listeners and callers that had faith in my talents.  By the time I got with the progam, I had only 15 minutes remaining. My very first Ima of Invention, Morah Elysha, was waiting patiently in que the entire time. Believe me, she really had no time to spare. She had an appointment with her obsetrician and she actually gave birth to a 7 lb. baby boy 12 hours later.

How did I handle my 15 minutes of shame? I did the best I could, and when I listened to the segment, it went better than I had expected. I was pretty proud of how I handled the mini-meltdown that my 2 yr old had during that time. Note to self, try to host a blog talk radio show when she is napping.  Oh, yeah, she dropped her nap. Oh, well. I must have been so red in the face from humiliation. I can’t even imagine what the BlogTalk Radio police must have been thinking, oy.

 So, if you want to know why Shavuot is the cheesiest Jewish holiday, you’ll find some brief background in this article, Think Shavuot, Say Cheese . I even learned more about Shavuot. Not only was this article very imformative, but the blogosphere has been  full of Jewish blogs, facebook pages, and tweets have been featuring recipes for Shavuot. Chocolate Chip Cheesecake, Blintz Souffle, Spinach Quiche, Lasagna, and let’s not forget ice cream. In fact, I received a coupon for a 1.5 liter of Edys Ice Cream and I couldn’t think of a better time to take advantage of it! I am really looking forward to Edy’s Slow Churned Chocolate Ice Cream. And, yes, it is certified Kosher!

And, a big, hearty Mazel Tov to Morah Elysha and the very easy delivery-he literally came out onto the hospital bed-her third son. Tune in next time when we’ll hear how her dream job as a mommy and me instructor became a reality.

Leave a Reply

