Jennie Garth Gets Vegetable At New York’s Grand Central Station

     

  

If you would have asked me several years ago if I thought that I’d be in the same room as Kelly Taylor (Jennie Garth) from 90210, I would have rolled my eyes and laughed. If you would have asked if I’d be in the same room as Jennie Garth with the makers of Hidden Valley Salad Dressings and the Love Your Veggies campaign, I still would have rolled my eyes and laughed out loud. Thank G-d, a lot has changed since those days and I am now dealing with three very picky eaters. Jennie Garth has also grown-up, married a nice boy from Queens, NY, (actor Peter Facinelli) and is raising three girls. She will always be referred to as “Kelly Taylor”, but she is a mom first and she wants her kids to eat foods that are healthy and nutritional. Who would’ve thunk that our paths would cross at an interactive veggie-focused event today in Manhattan, “Veggie Central”. I learned something else about Jennie Garth, she grew-up on a farm in Illinois! I also grew-up in Illinois, but I was surrounded by sidewalks and strip malls. I must admit, since I became a mom I have always been curious in how ‘celebrity” and “mom” can go together. When I saw Jennie Garth in person, there was no doubt in my mind that she excells in both of these “roles” like the star she is.
 
 

This was a really fun event and when I wasn’t picking my three year old daughter off of the floor (don’t ask) I had a few minutes to shmooz with other mom bloggers and discuss what our friends on facebook, followers on twitter, and blog subscribers would like to know about getting their kids excited about vegetables. I must add that my daughter ate more veggies than any other person at the event and I apologize for any carrots, tomato, or cucumber remains that were found shmushed on the floor after we left.  

We were also joined by a group of fourth and fifth grade students from Brooklyn’s PS 58, and the Bronx’s PS 196 and PS 230. These students met Jennie, prepared veggie recipes and learned about the importance of incorporating vegetables for a well-balanced diet. The event also featured many veggie-focused activities, including veggie trivia, ranch fountains, a veggie forest and plenty of fresh vegetables to snack on.
 
Jennie Garth can be seen talking about her love of veggies at iVillage.com Webisode series “Garden Party” sponsored by Hidden Valley® Salad Dressings.
  

Disclosure: I did not get paid to write this post. I was invited to attend the event and learn about the “GardenParty”.

2 thoughts on “Jennie Garth Gets Vegetable At New York’s Grand Central Station

  1. Hi! I’ve found that by having my kids cook with me, they’re more apt to eat what they make. Even veggies!

    Where in IL did you grow up?

Leave a Reply

