The Tweet That Made My Son’s 2nd Birthday Even Sweeter

As As a kosher foodie mom living the frugal life, I am always on the search for the latest and greatest conversations around topics about kosher food. Most recently, I was checking out tweetdeck when I saw a tweet pop-up in my kosher food column. If you are not familiar with tweedeck.com, it is a great tool to help twitter folk integrate other social media accounts (facebook, linkedIn, myspace) with their twitter account. The other great thing about tweetdeck is that you can create columns and each time the key word in that column is mentioned in a tweet, i.e., kosher, it goes in that column. Love it! So, what does twitter have to do with my son’s 2nd Birthday? It all started with a “tweet”!

When I saw a tweet between @madijack (awesome mom with writing that will rock your world), @koshereye (talented and savvy kosher mom/grandma bloggers) and @youcake (custom made cake toppers) I went right in and joined the conversation. But, isn’t that rude? Well, in the twitterverse, it is all about open communication, so, why not jump in.

I tweeted out to @youcake on twitter and inquired about their kosher YouCake topper. This couldn’t have come at a better time. I was in the beginning stages of putting together a “frugaliscious” birthday party for my two year old son. Within seconds, Iwas engaged in a very sweet conversation with @youcake. Just as a side note, they have the best customer service/marketing people ever!

 Even though I hadn’t heard about YouCake until it popped-up on my tweetdeck, they have been creating beutiful custom cake toppings for a lot of cake worthy celebrations. The process couldn’t be any easier. All you have to do is email a photo of the person that you would like to be in the design. YouCake will send a draft (via email) and once you have approved it, they handle the printing and can even deliver it to you. These unique and well designed toppers can be applied to any white frosted home baked or store bought cake — it also works on ice cream cakes.

My husband made a delicious homemade vanilla cake (from scratch) with an incredible homemade frosting to go on top. He was very impressed with the quality and durability of the YouCake topper and added that the process to apply the topper on the cake was, well, “a piece of cake”.

So, if you are looking for a way to “wow” your guest of honor as well as your friends and family at your next celebration, YouCake will give you something to smile about even after the cake is gone. Now, if this isn’t a picture worth a thousand words, even though my son only says several at this point in his life., I could tell by his smile that he was really impressed!

The kosher cake toppers are printed at Ostrovistky Bakery in Brooklyn .They came in sealed plastic covers with the kosher label as the seal. I did not receive money for this post. I received the cake topper to write this review.

Leave a Reply

