Parsha. Parsha. Parsha.

When I first heard the word Parsha, I thought it was a new fashion accessory. When I was in Hebrew years many years ago, I would have laughed at you if you would have told me how much Torah would be in my life today.

 I had no idea that the Torah had such interesting characters-I was so bored in Hebrew school back then. Today, I relish from studying the weekly Torah portion (Parsha) every week. Year after year, there are always new insights into the parsha, and then it becomes “all about me”. Not in a selfish way, but in what I can learn from it. That is why I am especially excited about this week’s parsha, Shemini.

You know the feeling you get when you feel connected to your life. Living your life in the present and being passionate about it-thank you Gary Vanderchuck! His words have stuck to me since I first heard him speak last year at SocComm in New York. I discovered that besides blogging about life as a 40+ parent, I love educating people from all backgrounds and religions about the benefits of kosher certified foods. I know that there are plenty of non-healthy kosher foods out there, but each day new and improved kosher food products enter the arena. I want to to be there when they enter the building!

What is so exciting about kosher food? I am going to blog the short answer, as I still have to clean my house for Shabbos-T-minus 2 hours. Last summer I attended the Orthdox Union Advanced Kashrus Seminar for Women. This week long course gave me the opportunity to meet with the OU Rabbinic Coordinators for each different food category. The wealth of knowledge about Kashrut and the sources those laws is mind blowing. There are reason for everything, and even if you don’t keep kosher, you might consider it after reading Chana Weisberg’s article, “Food For Growth”,online at Chabad.org. You know the phrase, “you are what you eat”? Whether you are a vegetarian or not, the following insights from Chana Weisberg will have you looking for the kosher symbol on your next trip to the supermarket.

Here are some of the insights from this week’s parsha that really sparked my interest in kosher food.

The Talmud teaches that all fish that have scales also have fins, but some fish with fins do not have scales and are not kosher. Having fins (ambition) without scales (morality) can lead to less than kosher behavior. Too many people in their climb to success, abandon their values along the way.

Just last night I saw the Nike Tiger Woods FAUXmmerical,. What the add did do is get a lot of people talking about Nike on twitter, facebook, print, and tv. A classic case study advertising 101.However, I am still completely repulsed by Tiger Woods, even with his “I know I was wrong” face. It just won’t make his shenanigans kosher in my world. I don’t know what food Tiger Woods consumes, but the “abandoning values” idea just went perfectly.

On a positive note, eating kosher foods can not only have spiritual benefits but health benefits as well. For example, the cheeseburger. There are a lot of resources online that can expand upon the three separate occasions in the Torah that tells us not to “boil a kid in its mother’s milk.” (Ex. 23:19; Ex. 34:26; Deut. 14:21). In other words-believe me, I need the cliff notes-the Oral Torah brings down that the Rabbis expanded upon. In order to help me, help you-the laws of keeping kosher can get complicated if you let them-I wanted to include this excerpt from OU.org to explain this idea further , “It is vital to point out that even though Beef Stroganoff (for example) does not fit the literal definition of ‘boil a kid in its mother’s milk’, it is no less a Torah violation than poaching baby goat meat in its own mother’s milk. Not one bit less. The prohibition of eating Beef Stroganoff is NOT a Rabbinic extension of the Torah’s law; it is within the definition of what G-d prohibited…sour cream from the milk of a cow that was unrelated to the cow from which the beef came from”. Are you still with me? Something not mentioned in the Oral Torah is the fact that meat and milk do not digest well. In fact, I found out that The International Wellness Directory included that on their site, http://www.mnwelldir.org/docs/nutrition/digestion01.htm “Milk and meat should never be eaten together. This is one of the laws of keeping Kosher. Milk and meat are simply not designed to be digested together. Drink pure, room temp water, with meals”. In other words, why look for trouble!

If you aren’t Jewish, but love kosher food that is healthy, please let me know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

