A Day In The Life Of A Primetime Parent

There are so many perks about being a stay-at-home-mom. Sure, I have days when I think that I will grind my teeth so hard that they’ll fall down my throat. We all have days like that. It is no wonder I took up a blog so I can share the ups and downs of parenting with whomever may want to read them (thank you if you do).

Once my online blogging world merged at offline events, I knew that I had finally found my thing. I am so honored to have met such smart and savvy women and men that have had careers in fashion, marketing, journalism, photography, television, and engineering. These women and men inspire me more than any boss I have ever had. There is a mutual respect going on both on and off the social networks. It is through these offline events that mom bloggers meet, mingle, and share the most valuable marketing material-our conversations.

We listen to each other when discussing fashion for our children, cleaning products for the home, undergarments for keeping post pregnancy shape hidden, and getting our kids to sleep at night at stay that way until the morning and much more!

The other part of the story is that we get together and we really learn about trends in the marketplace that affect us all. For example, I recently attended an event that Kim Coleman @mominthecity organized forTrueCookPlus (www.truecookplus.com), a microwave technology that cooks microwaveable food to perfection & optimal taste while eliminating concerns of Salmonella and E. coli. I had no idea that according to the CDC, people have from 76 million food related illnesses, which resulted in 325,000 hospitalizations and 5,000 deaths this year. Even though we don’t currently own a microwave, it is becoming the standard for microwave food preparation and I wanted to share this information with my readers. I was able to really hear about the story behind TrueCookPlus in a comfortable, child friendly environment (child care was included). My little guy had a blast splashing around the New York city tree house while I chatted with some mom and dad bloggers about life. We are all so different, yet we all have the mom (and dad) thing as our first priority. This fits in nicely with the inspirational story behind the design of TrueCookPlus. Here goes, hope you you have some tissues handy, it is that good. You can also go to this link to read full article.

“It all started with Schaffel’s son, Sam, who suffers from cerebral palsy. Schaffel, who spent years in the film industry, was looking for a way to allow his son some independence when it comes to cooking for himself and others.

“He’s only able to use his right hand,” Schaffel said. “He has balance issues. I was worried about him falling toward an oven and burning himself.”

Sure, anyone can pop prepared foods into a microwave but can they cook them sufficiently to kill any possible pathogens? That was another concern.

Schaffel said his brother came across Drucker’s software system five years ago and alerted him. Drucker provided a microwave prototype that had been modified to recognize special codes developed for a variety of pre-packaged foods.

Sam, now 22, took the microwave to school and was able to feed himself — and his friends.

“With our technology, what happens is when you put the code in, it (the microwave) does all the thinking and controls all those variables for you. The codes are on the package or on our Web site,” Schaffel said.”

I really want to give a shout out to Kim Coleman im of Mom in the City for putting on a kid friendly and informative event. I will never look at a microwave the same way again.

One thought on “A Day In The Life Of A Primetime Parent

  1. Terrific…where or where do you find the time…..good job and good advise…..JoanZ

Leave a Reply

