Let Your Little Imaginations Run Free At The South Street Seaport and The Imagination Playground

Ever since I started blogging about being a 35 plus mom, I have had the opportunity to try out an assortment of new products on the market. I love getting packages of new kosher food products, kids toys, and cleaning products to try out at home. However, I am thrilled beyond belief when when a fellow mom blogger sends me an invite That is why I was over the top thrilled when Beth Feldman of rolemommy.com and Kim Coleman of mominthecity.com invited me and my children to explore Imagination Playground at the South Street Seaport Museum. With their names attached to this special blogger only event, I knew that it was going to be a great day.

I was also very excited because I would be able to spend quality time with my 2 year old son that morning while his older sisters were in camp. This was also going to be a much easier commute as we all know it is harder to travel with little ones via the MTA when mom is outnumbered. I was excited to take the express bus from Queens, the QM7, because it would drop us off within a couple of blocks of our destination at 11 Fulton. The morning of the event, I checked the bus schedule because the QM7 only runs at certain times in the morning. We were ready for our adventure. What I didn’t know is how much I would actually laugh and giggle on my own. I was really have a great time and we hadn’t even arrived at South Street Seaport.

When the bus finally brought us to lower Manhattan, I felt as if we had been transported to another city at another point in history. I had never seen South Street Seaport before and I couldn’t believe how much it reminded me of Boston, Massachusetts. The small streets leading up to the seaport and cobblestone streets really keeps the history of this area alive. It was a really hot day and the area was full of tourists, business people, and moms like me on their way to check out the Imagination Playground. First, we entered the South Street Seaport museum. We were welcomed by the very modern and clean interior and a much needed wave of air conditioning relief. Did I mention it was a very hot day?

We cooled off even more once we were directed to another floor in the building and welcomed by Beth and Kim. Drinks, snacks, moms, strollers, and children from 10 to 2 weeks old filled the room. Beth and Kim introduced us to our tour guide and one of the key designers of Imagination Playground, Barry Richards. You can find out more about the ideas and the design of the Imagination Playground in this clip produced by Rolemommy.com.

My 2 year old son and I had a wonderful time. I also loved the opportunity to schmooze with other mom bloggers and meet their adorable children. Another perk about being mom blogger.

Imagination Playground was the perfect outing for my 2 year old son and I. He couldn’t get enough of playing in the sand, going down the slide, splashing in the water area, and piling cushy blocks on top of each other. There are shady places to sit on the perimeter of the park which I really liked. Even though this park is in the middle of a very busy area, there is a gate that wraps around the entire playground. I had to keep an extra eye out for other people walking in and out of the gate-some people don’t always don’t close it all the way.

Another thing that I really liked about Imagination Playground is that it has a bathroom right there in the park. There is only one, but it is much better than schlepping everything up and having to leave the park with children that need to make. These bathrooms are also roomy, clean, and include a changing table. Even more reasons to come back again and again.

My son and I loved Imagination Playground so much that we went back the next week with my 3 and 5 year old daughters. This time we drove in from Queens and parked at a nearby parking garage. It was more convenient, but also made it a more expensive day. Nevertheless, it was a great way to spend time with my kids and the girls loved it as well. We packed up lunch, snacks, drinks, and plenty of extra clothes. The play area does get a lot of sun exposure and if your children have sensitive skin, bring plenty of sunscreen, hats, sunglasses, and lite shirts to avoid too much sun exposure.

I can’t wait to go back to South Street Seaport again, there is just so much to see and do around the area.

Even though it was very difficult to get my son to leave the park, more adventures awaited across the way aboard the Peking at Pier 16. This ship is one of the largest sailing vessels ever built and the largest preserved by a museum. The views from here couldn’t be more picturesque, with the Statue of Liberty in the distance, it is a real New York City tourists spot.

Click on this link for more information on Imagination Playground and for more information about the Peking, go to this link about the South Street Seaport Museum.

2 thoughts on “Let Your Little Imaginations Run Free At The South Street Seaport and The Imagination Playground

  1. Terrific place…..what fun and looks like the mom’s were relaxing while their kids were doing what kids do…..knowing they were safe and close by….

Leave a Reply

