PrimeTimeParent: Sarah Jessica Parker

(contributed by Audrey M.)

If you were wondering if you can have children later in life while maintaining your job as star of a cult HBO series, the answer is, “You Can.”

This tends to be a main concern for us women 35+ and want to have babies. We’ve spent our adulthood building our careers. And now, we are starring in an HBO series. We wonder, will I be able to be a great parent as I maintain a career? If my character gets cut, will I lose my Acter’s Guild health benefits? If my baby is sick will I miss filming of an episode? If I have to stay up all night with a collicky baby, will my makeup artist be able to cover up the bags? Will I emotionally scar my baby when I leave to take care of my fans? Will I remember my lines after I get mommy brain?

All this boils down to is, Will I lose my status, my edge, my viability…everything I’ve worked for, if I have a baby or two?

These are good questions and you should be commended for asking them now, rather than later.

Sarah Jessica Parker is a good example for us to look at, since she’s an average TV & movie star like most of us. If you’ve watched the Sex and the City series you might remember when Sarah was pregnant with her first child at age 37. (SJP had twins in her 40’s.)

I believe “Carrie” was dating Burger. The producers, cameramen and stylist did an excellent job of redirecting the viewer away from her emerging belly. If you have a dream team like this, they can take some of the pressure, responsibility and tasks of mommyhood off your shoulders, and then massage them.

I don’t know how Sarah and Mathew (her husband) chose to start a family. After all having a baby these days is a tough decision. If mom has to take time off from her job, that could throw the family budget out of wack (for a long time to come). There are many cost to raising a child, plus the added cost of putting your child in acting classes, getting them professional hair and makeup for their headshots and the commercials they’re currently shooting.

Like Sarah, we really need to weigh out what we can comfortably (that’s a relative term) “give up” to step into our new role, Maaaaaaaaaaaaa!

SJP is in the August 2011 issue of Vogue. On the topic of being a parent in her 40’s (a PrimeTimeParent) she’s quotes as saying, “I guess I think there are things about it that I hope have made me a better mother. I’ve had a lot of opportunities to do the things that I wanted to do, like sleep. I have slept till 11:00 for a lot of years. Honestly, the only thing that I’m concerned about is the energy: I hope I can maintain the energy.”

So while it’s smart to think about these things and plan ahead, there’s no way of knowing for sure how the future will play out.

You might just want to give up your role as star of Sex and the City for the ultimate supporting role in Raising Baby.

 

Leave a Reply

