Don’t Let The Flying Latke Get Away Before Chanukah

This past Sunday, I decided to take my two youngest children (ages 5 and 3) on the subway from Queens to Tribeca. This was the first time I traveled with them without a stroller in tow. Since our final destination was The Flea Theater and tickets to see The Flying Latke, the kids agreed to be good listeners.

Not only were the kids great on the subway ride, they were absolutely fantastic during the performance. They were drawn in by the friendly bubbe, played by Sade Namei. She was so perfect in that role, I actually wanted to sit down next to her and shmooze about life. I don’t know if you’ve been to The Flea Theater, but it is only two rows big. I loved that! Once the play got started, we were like part of the show. There was a lot of action as the story of the latke that got away developed. There was a lot of kvetching, kvelling, and more kvetching. Ultimately, a fight breaks out and a full blown food fight begins. A salad in the face, a challah roll on the head, and a pickle toss. The pickle ended up near my daughter’s seat and she is still laughing about that one. Then, the horror. A latke is tossed and ends up out the window. Once that happens, the mishpacha gets meshugge and we were front and center (literally). I don’t want to spoil the story for you, but you can still purchase tickets for this weekend and find out how it all works out.

The Flying Latke was written by Arthur Yorinks. My kids actually heard the story in Shul (Synagogue) last week and told that to the cast as we exited to theater. They even asked my kids what their favorite part of the play was. Both of them replied, “the flying pickle”. Yes, there were some other things flying before the latke entered the story. We were all really thrilled to meet the cast after the performance. The next thing on the agenda was to find a place to eat some latkes! I even asked Ben Kamine, a director of the show, where I could find a Kosher meal. He had some great suggestions, too! In fact, he told me about Sushein, a Kosher Sushi Restaurant. I did not want to go with my kids, but it is definitely a place I would try with my husband.

If you are looking for something fun to do with the family this weekend, buy your tickets today. The Flying Latke runs through December 18th, so you have two more chances to see the show next Saturday and Sunday at 11am. Tickets are $12 per person. For a discount of $2, please use code.BLOG5.

Visit the Flea Theater‘s web site for the full performance schedule. The Flea is located at 41 White Street between Church and Broadway, three blocks south of Canal, close to the A/C/E, N/R/Q, 6, J/M/Z and 1 subway lines. We took the E all the way from Queens and it really was, I can’t believe I am writing this, easy with two kids and me!

The opinions of this post are my own. Mamadramany provided me with the tickets to see this show and I give it a “chai” five!!

 

Leave a Reply

