Sharon Osbourne and David Arquette Help Unveil New Disney Junior Toy Line at Toy Fair 2012

This past Monday, I had the opportunity to cover a very special Disney Junior event for Nancy Horn, a.k.a., themamamaven.com. When she asked if I could cover this event for her, I said “yes” the minute I heard Disney mentioned (and he even had a chance to finish her sentence). I still remember my first visit to Disneyland (over 35 years ago). The other day my sister found our original tickets from 1971! Like most of the world, those memories transport me back to my childhood and times with my family. Now that we are all living away from home and we insist that our parents call us when they get home, memories from simpler times are golden. As a mom, I am now sharing these wonderful moments with my children. Even after so many years, Disney continues to make me feel like a kid again. I was so thrilled to see and hear first hand some very exciting announcements from Disney Consumer Products.

On Monday, February 13, in true Disney fashion, a room full of news reporters, photographers, journalists, and yes, mom bloggers, gathered at the Altman Building in anticipation. Cameras and smartphones were pointed towards the small stage where Sharon Osbourne and David Arquette, voices of Mama Hook and Skully on Jake and the Never Land Pirates, were to appear. We were treated to a Disney version of a light-hearted talent show. The talent included new toys and upcoming content inspired by Jake and the Never Land Pirates, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Minnie’s Bow-Toons, and Doc McStuffins. Yes, Doc McStuffins is new to the Disney family. This new animated series is set to debut on Disney Junior in March. This was especially interesting to me, as the main character is a six-year-old girl who heals toys and stuffed animals out of her backyard clinic. I have my very own set of aspiring female physicians in my own home, and I can’t wait for them to see this.

The Disney Junior toy line will have colorful play sets, figures and feature plus from Fisher Price; role play sets, accessories, plush and dolls from Just Play; interactive board games from Wonder Forge; children’s electronics from Vtech; ride-ons from Kiddieland, and bikes and scooters from Huffy, among other products. A hit already in my home, Jake and the Never Land Pirates will have their first toy line this year as well. My son is already “hooked” on Jake! New kid on the Disney Junior block, Doc McStuffins, will inspire nurturing play through doctor-themed role play, dolls and accessories. My girls will love that!

Also at the event were several of the executives from DCP. In fact, J.D. Edwards, senior vice president, media networks licensing for DCP, was one of the judges of the light-hearted talent show. He also presented Sharon Osbourne and David Arquette with custom-made toys inspired by their characters. There was so much going on, I couldn’t tweet fast enough to share it all with you as it was happening. , I really wanted to tweet out that I saw a sneak peak of Jake and the Never Land Pirates: Peter Pan Returns, which aired that evening on Disney Junior. You can check it out here or go to http://disney.go.com/disneyjunior

This event kept getting better! Not only were Sharon Osbaourne and David Arquette presented custom-made toys, they donated them to a hospital for children. And, we (the mom bloggers) were invited to speak with both Sharon and David about the series. We also met with Dana Green from the Disney Channel about the shows and character development. We also told them how nice it was that Doc McStuffins has dark skin, which helps all families feel connected and have a connection to animated characters from all backgrounds.

David Arguette and Sharon Osbourne Join The Moms

Following our very own roundtable, I had the opportunity to check out some of the key toys from the new Disney Junior line. In the below video, you can catch a sneak-peak as well.

http://youtu.be/oLysL5yBAxY

For more information on Disney Consumer Products and Disney Junior, you can visit Disney Living on YouTube, “Like” them on Facebook, and follow them on Twitter. If you have basic cable or have a satellite channel, on March 23, Disney Junior will be added and will be on 24-hours a day. As with anything, monitoring the amount of time your children watch television and videos is important. In our home, we go unplugged for the Sabbath (Friday at sundown until Saturday at sundown). This provides our family with much needed time just to be with each other. It also allows our kids to engage in unlimited imaginative play! It is at these times that I wish I did have a camera to capture them in this mode. However, that imaginative play does transfer into the week as well.

3 thoughts on “Sharon Osbourne and David Arquette Help Unveil New Disney Junior Toy Line at Toy Fair 2012

Leave a Reply

