Reading and Relaxing Breeds Content

In our world of constant contact, instagram, tweets, shares, texts, and updates, reading a book sounds like a thing of the past. I am happy to report that while I am as techneccted as most, I am still true to tangible turning of pages and leafing through the local newspapers.

This year I celebrated my birthday at a book bash and it was epic. I attended the Book Expo of America at Javitz Center and books are alive and well. I am proud to say that every week I unplug from all technological devices and observe Shabbat (day of rest) from sundown Friday night to sundown Saturday night. This type of technological freedom is not just limited to Shabbat. There are several Jewish holidays that require me and my family to shutdown from all things technological for up to 2 days. This is the biggest blessing and I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

 wasn’t always an observer of Shabbat. In fact, I started to take this on after my thirtieth birthday. At first, people thought I was crazy. How could I give up going out to restaurants and parties? Shutdown all phones and email correspondence for an entire day? For me, it was the easiest change I had ever made. I did not lose anything, I gained everything.

What do I do with all of this time away from modern technologies? There are so many things that I do that it wouldn’t be fair to list them all in this post. So, I have decided to start a new series of posts about things I read about over Shabbat. This includes books, articles, recipes, and battery free activities for kids.

This week, I wanted to share a link to Masbia.org. Masbia, the only kosher soup kitchen, opened its fourth branch in Queens in march 2010 and serves, hot nutritious meals 5 nights a week.

One thought on “Reading and Relaxing Breeds Content

  1. I totally agree. That’s why I love Shabbos so much. It’s important to get off the tech gadgets for a while and touch real paper and ink!! Have a great day!
    xo
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

