Finding Yourself Fridays-Unplugging From Technology And Plugging Into The Serenity of Shabbat

Every week about this time, I happily countdown the hours until I light the candles for Shabbat. If you are not aware of what Shabbat is, I will be sharing one thing each week, over the next few weeks, that I just can’t live without. I was inspired to embark upon this topic, as my fellow Trumpeting Media partners are focusing on things that help them “find themselves” each Friday as well.

We all should be “Finding Ourselves”, going inward and taking notice of all things around us. So many miracles happen each and everyday, it is hard to recognize them in our daily routines, but they are there. Since I started to observe Shabbos over 10 years ago, Friday is the day of the week I find myself letting go. I let go of the business of the week that was, catching my breath, and settling in on 25 hours dedicated to being in the presence of family and friends. I am not only in the presence of family and friends, I am present. No texting, no phone calls, just in the moment. If it wasn’t for Shabbos, I would never know when to step away from the instant gratification of messaging friends from around the world or writing another article about my favorite new gadget. Each and every Friday, the next 25 hours are full of reading, relaxing, and relating to everybody. Do you know how much “finding yourself” can happen?

This week I want to focus on my family. I was away from them for an entire week!  I love that we light the Shabbos candles and recite the blessing together. As a family, we give our appreciation to the day of rest upon us. We refrain from all work. What we do work on is being in the present moment together. This is where I find myself every Friday.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Finding Yourself Fridays-Unplugging From Technology And Plugging Into The Serenity of Shabbat

  1. Beautiful Post Esti! and what a beautiful culture your observe. We should all take cue. I should start observing Shabbat too. Now that I’m kosher too… I’m almost halfway there! ;0)

Leave a Reply

