Changing the Menu on “Finding Yourself Friday”

Contributed by Audrey Matalon-Rogers http://www.GiveMeMilk.com http://www.ZenMotherhood.com

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

– Margaret Mead.

I was going to write about something else for Finding Yourself Friday. But today I’m feeling too successful with causing a change for the betterment of a small group of young children’s health.

About 2 weeks ago my son’s nursery school announced they would be offering lunches for purchase on Monday’s and Friday’s. Preparing my son a healthy lunch that he will actually eat when I’m not there to spoon it into his mouth is something I currently do 5 days a week, every morning so that it’s fresh. Initially when I heard they were planning to offer lunch 2 days of the week I was ecstatic.

Until I read that Monday’s was to be fish sticks, pasta and corn and Friday’s would be pizza, French fries and corn. The thought of these things made me sick. Thinking they would be filling up their little 2 year old bodies made me sicker.

I spoke to interim administrator and asked to please read online articles about the ills of French fries, especially for young children. More articles about corn and white pasta. The pizza and fish sticks are not great but with the side dishes of pasta, French fries and corn—-YUK!

The Administrator went to head of school who told her, ‘Leave it the way it is. The parents aren’t complaining.’ Even though I was resigned there would ever be a change I spoke to my son’s teacher and to 2 other moms I suspected might be interested. One of those moms is related to owners of school. But even she said, ‘Don’t get your hopes up. The parents here do not care.’

Today I received an email saying there was a change in the menu. Monday Menu: Pasta, Fish Sticks, Sliced Cucumbers/Tomatoes/Peppers & bottled water. Friday Menu: Pizza, Steamed Vegetables, Sliced Apples & bottle water.

Not perfect. Definitely a step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

