Finding Myself Friday: What it’s like to be ‘In Jennie’s Kitchen’

In Jennies Kitchen Sign

After eight days of creatively cooking up meals for Passover without matzah last month, I couldn’t wait to get away from my kitchen. My family, on the other hand, could live on matzah and cream cheese all year long. The day after Passover ended, I had the perfect excuse to get out of the kitchen and enhance my culinary quest. I was leaving my kitchen for an afternoon to spend some time at a very special gathering of New York area bloggers, in Jennifer Perillo’s kitchen. In the blogging world, these gatherings usually are accompanied by a product that we should be tweeting and pinning about. At this particular event, we were all gathered in honor of the success of one of our very own; fellow mom blogger Jennifer Perillo. Not only is she a gifted writer and chef, she is just as beautiful on the outside as she is on the inside. I was so thrilled to celebrate her first cookbook, Homemade with Love: Simple Scratch Cooking from In Jennie’s Kitchen. We celebrated in style, and what better place to do that then ‘in Jennie’s kitchen’. I felt so privileged to be in her element and see first -hand where her passionate baking comes to fruition; her kitchen.

Lighting in Jennie's home

When I first walked into Jennie’s home, I immediately felt a sense of warmth. I was drawn in by the natural lighting (this is a big thing for me). Everything from the color schemes, pictures on the walls, and cozy sitting areas was a reflection of Jennifer’s world. It encompasses a feeling of love and appreciation of all that is around her.

Jennie in her kitchen

The kitchen is where I found Jennie upon my arrival. It is not a huge kitchen, in fact, it is very modest. Most importantly, has everything she needs. What she creates in her kitchen supersedes anything I have ever seen before.
All of a sudden, the quick exit from my kitchen was forgotten. I actually wanted to join Jennie in her kitchen and start cooking! When you see the pure joy and ease that Jennie has when working with food, it makes spending time in the kitchen that much better. When you see the ease of making meals from scratch, you will be inspired to make them in your own home. Homemade with Love is a book that you will not only use to make delicious, healthy meals, but thoroughly love the stories that go along with it as well.

Made from scratch

I can’t wait to make this! You can find the recipe online at injennieskitchen.com

Lentil Ricotta "Meatballs"

Love this girl!!! Esti and Jennifer Perillo
Esti and Jennie

All of the above the photos from the event were taken by Lisa McDonald. Thank you for sharing these beautiful images with us.

One thought on “Finding Myself Friday: What it’s like to be ‘In Jennie’s Kitchen’

Leave a Reply

