#FYF Turning Over a New Tea Leaf at 45 Finding Yourself Friday

47b5d933b3127cce928bcabeee6100000016108bammjfw1bs

My birthday was this week in New York. I am full of emotions (maybe freaked out is a better word) that I am now officially 45 years old. When did that happen? Wasn’t I just the little girl with curly black hair and a dimples on my face that all bubbies would kvell over?

As a kid, my mother always made sure I had a birthday party with a lovely cake, fun games, and prizes. Since I am a summer baby, my birthday parties were always in the backyard. My older brothers and sister would help out with the preparations and all I had to do was put on my party dress and show-up. Fast forward many years, and I have become very low key about my birthday. My husband really wanted me to have some friends over (he is quite the cook and promised to make something delicious). While part of me wanted to bask in the celebration with friends, I took more of an introspective route this year. Instead of celebrating outwardly, I decided to look at how I could make 45 an even better year than 44.

I actually started this process back in February when I gave-up processed foods, desserts, white flour, and sugar. You can say that I have ‘turned over a new leaf’. By eliminating these foods, I feel better than ever and I find myself more positive. For example, the little things don’t bother me as much as they did before. I have learned to accept the things I can’t change and proceed with positivity in the things that I can achieve. It is so easy to look around at what everybody else is doing (all you have to do is go on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram). However, there was a time in February when I saw a photo of myself and I wanted to cry; I didn’t look healthy at all. My skin looked grey and my entire body looked bloated. I was so disappointed by that picture, and quite frankly, I was feeling sick about it. It was my own fault. I knew how I got to looking that way, I wasn’t careful about the foods in my life. I knew that it was time to look at food differently and start only to eat foods that would benefit my health. I allowed myself to feel bad for a day and then it was time to move on.

oolong tea

It has been four months since my initial journey to #flatthefat began. While my mind is feeling good, I need to take extra measures to get the weight off of me. While I have every type of body shaping and slimming garment in my drawer, I hate how they make me feel. While these items may flatten one area, the fat just gets pushed out over the sides. It has to go somewhere, right? The only other solution (plastic surgery is not an option here) to #flatthefat is to add on exercise. So, I decided to start swimming. Have you tried it lately? I am obsessed! I felt great mentally and physically. However, the weight is not coming off as it did for me in my 20s and 30s. I am adding yet another element to my #flatthefat regime; I am turning over a new #tealeaf. I recently read an article in Prevention Magazine about tea and how it could give my lazy metabolism the extra push it so desperately needs. In fact, the article, The Metabolism Miracle For Women Over 40. Did you know that according to Japanese researchers green or oolong tea can give my metabolism what it needs? I have actually tried this recipe and I wanted to share this incredible Metabolism-Boosting Iced Lemon-and-Ginger Green Tea mentioned in the article, here it is:

Serves 6
Combine 10 green or oolong tea bags, 2″ piece peeled fresh ginger cut into thin slices, 3 large mint sprigs, and 1 sliced small lemon in heatproof 2 qt pitcher.
Bring 4 cups water to a boil in saucepan and pour into pitcher.
Stir once and let tea bags steep 6 minutes.
Remove and discard tea bags and mint sprigs.
Add a touch of honey to tea, if desired.
Let cool 20 minutes.
Add enough ice and cold water to make 6 cups.
Serve over ice in glasses with fresh mint sprigs and lemon slices.
You can read the entire article here http://www.prevention.com/weight-loss/weight-loss-tips/metabolism-miracle-women-over-40#ixzz2VX7qlucJ

beautiful sunset

So, here I am, on this Friday, drinking my Bigelow Chinese Oolong tea. I am finding my new, energized 45 year old self, eager to continue #turningoveranewleaf and sharing it with you here. Who says that youth has to be wasted on the young, why night live your best life in the #primetime.

One thought on “#FYF Turning Over a New Tea Leaf at 45 Finding Yourself Friday

  1. Hi Esti,
    Happy Birthday! I’m just a few steps behind you, my 45th is July 10. I changed my way of eating about 10 years ago and I believe that’s what keeps me healthy and young looking. Keep it up, you looked absolutely glowing at the event!!

    xo
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

