(Review) Blue Man Group Continues to Shower Audiences with Fun

A couple of weeks ago, I had a great night out in New York City with my husband. The truth is, we are usually too tired to venture into NYC after a full-day of work. I am not trying to kvetch here, but this type of stuff is especially tiring for a couple of Prime Time Parents like us. You know, getting kids off to school, working at our respective jobs, getting kids’ home from school, homework, dinner, baths, books, and bed. Even younger parents get tired, you know who you are. So, we’re tired. So, we went out anyway. So glad we did, because the Blue Man Group at the Astor Theater in NYC is just what we needed! Have you seen the Blue Man Group?

I actually had seen the show in Chicago over 20 years ago. I can still remember how cool and engaging it was to me back then. How they made the most amazing jam sessions come to life with rubber tubing is still a mystery to me. The performance art in this show is fantastic, and that’s without a word from the Blue Man Group!

The show has kept up with modern themes and has incorporated the role that texting and social media plays in our daily lives. The GiPad Apple parody was very entertaining. You can catch a sneak peak of it in the clip below.

If you want to be entertained and amused, this is the show for you. We had great seats, just far enough away from flying twinkies debris or Captain Crunch particles (that happens on the first level). However, a Blue Man did jump up to the railing and danced in front of us on the 2nd level. I haven’t laughed so hard, nor has my husband, in a very long time. We had so much fun we forgot how tired we were!

If you are looking for a fun night out in a very cool neighborhood, definitely check out The Blue Man Group at the Astor Place Theater, 434 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10003. The show is non-stop and runs for 1 hour and 45 minutes without intermission (yes, use the facilities before). If you are taking public transportation, it is just a 2 minute walk from the 6 train at Lafayette Street. After the show, grab a coffee at the Starbucks at 25 Astor Place, biggest one I’ve seen yet! I definitely want to go back there with my laptop and work.

You can buy tickets here, or go to the Astor Place Theater website for more information on the show. You can also keep up with them via these social media platforms:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bluemangroup
Twitter: http://twitter.com/BlueManGroup
Tumblr: http://bluemangroup.tumblr.com/
Instagram: @bluemangroup
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/bluemangroup

Disclaimer: This was not a paid post. I was supplied tickets to review the show and share it with you here. The opinions expressed in this post are my own.

Leave a comment